Not quite….

This update is a little overdue.

Well, it wasn’t ‘just’ viruses as we had hoped.. After my last post, Finley started developing a lump on her back. It was exactly at a spot of one of her surgical repair incisions. I noticed it at bedtime as I set her down and she cried out in pain that her back hurt. I lifted her shirt to see a very noticeable lump. I took some photos and called the nurse advice line. I worried that it had something to do with her spleen. Thankfully, my pediatrician was the one on call that night and he agreed we should have her looked at right away, so off to the ER we went. After many hours (Finley now knowing how Child Life works – kept asking for toys), an IV line started, blood drawn, and a lengthy ultrasound it was determined that this was a pocket of fluid, or fibrous tissue and therefore non emergent. We were sent home with an follow up appointment with the pediatric surgeon as this was probably related to the fluid pocket that was supposed to be bowel…

Two days later back, we got to meet the only Pediatric Surgeon in the practice we didn’t already know. The lump was now redder and causing her great pain. He decided to start her on high dosage antibiotics 3x a day for 1 week. It looked like an infection to them, which didn’t make any sense since you don’t develop “post-surgical” infections six years later. They looked at all the scans and the pocket and this lump lined up, so it seemed the infection was taking the path of least resistance and working it’s way out. Again, it made no logical sense though for the infection to be where it was. But if it walks a like a duck….

It took several days for the lump to improve. In the meantime, it got redder – finally on day four I noticed improvement. We had a follow up appointment on day six and they were satisfied with the response, but still baffled. It is not clear why this happened. We don’t know if this is what was causing the low grade fevers for the past six weeks and pain in the mid section (which is not where the lump was). I like things to make sense and understand why things happen. Finley is on day three with no elevated temperature, of which I am very thankful. We will have follow up blood work in two weeks, and potentially another CT scan to make sure the pocket is gone. There may be a follow up with GI. I am going to continue to pray for all the infection to be gone and not to come back. In faith, I am going to claim healing for Finley and continue to ask for his provision and protection over her. In the hospital when they first found the ‘pocket’ the doctor dismissed infection because he said “she would be sicker.” Part of me wonders, if she wasn’t sicker because God was protecting her. Whatever the case, I am just filled with so much gratitude that we had many eyes on her, and even though this was very scary for me – she is fine. I am so very thankful that we are so close to world class medical care and are covered in prayer by so many. I am also thankful that we have really great insurance.

Finley seems to be back to 100% herself. No more pain and back to normal. She will have a few more weeks before we allow her to resume PE, Gymnastics, and full combat activities to allow her spleen to go back to normal size.

I am still processing the last month. The roller coaster of emotions, the wrestling with fear.. it’s like I have an emotional hangover. I like answers and things to be clear – but I may not get that. I have to be ok with not knowing, and just TRUST (there’s that word again) that she is ok, will be ok… and not fear the unknown lurking inside her body. It’s an on-going lesson for me. Trust in him, and lean not on my own understanding.

Ok, I hear you God. You always had us in your palm.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
    and do not lean on your own understanding.
 In all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make straight your paths.”

 

Leave a Reply

