Rearing its ugly head?

The cyst is….

I promise I will post (and share photos) about Finley’s 1 year birthday soon. We had such a wonderful time celebrating her with friends and family. Such a happy day. But what I need to write about it what we are facing now. Finley had another ultrasound and X-Ray on Friday. As you know they have been following her bile duct issue closely and Dr J still maintains that there is a choledochal cyst in there. After reviewing her images this time, that belief remains unchanged for him and he wants her to have an MRI in the next 4 weeks, and then schedule surgery by October.

WHAT? Surgery?

Yeah, I know. I have been maintaining in my heart that there is no cyst there. She was all set for surgery last October for that condition when it miraculously STOPPED looking like a cyst that required immediate intervention. Dr Bliss at that time said he didn’t think it was a CC. I am still fervently praying that there is no cyst in there. Hopefully, things will be more clear with an MRCP (like an MRI).  She doesn’t have any of the other symptoms of a CC- just an abnormally large common bile duct. If it not clear with the MRCP, then they will have to put her to sleep, inject dye down a scope and do an image scan.

Once they have the diagnosis confirmed – proceed to surgery. I am not even going into that part yet  because I don’t want to get ahead of myself. I am still praying that it won’t come to that.

Before I go to my list of prayer requests – I have to list our praises. Finley’s X-Ray looked great – no signs of reherniation and her repair site is looking good. She weighed in at 20 pounds and 2 ounces – so she is gaining well. I thank God that she didn’t have to have this surgery last October. Regardless of what is ahead of us – God spared Finley from this very complicated surgery when she was just 2 1/2 months old. I am very thankful for that. Maybe this is just God’s idea of perfect timing. She is ready now. Nothing in me wants my baby girl to have to go through another surgery though. But I have to continue to trust in God and his plan. I praise God for all the answered prayers so far… and I will continue to lay our needs down before him.

The prayer list…

That she does not have anything that requires surgical intervention. That it becomes clear with the next tests what next steps are required. If surgery is required, again I ask God to make that clear to me, to give us peace about that and to make it clear who should do the surgery. For God to give wisdom and knowledge to all those working on Finley’s care and that they make the best decisions. To help us not be afraid and continue to just trust in the Lord. For him to protect Finley and heal her.

Thank you for continuing to walk down this road with us and support us with your prayers.

6 thoughts on “Rearing its ugly head?”

  1. We are so sorry to hear of the possibility of surgery for little Finley. We will keep all of you in our thoughts and prayers. Stay strong!!

  2. Praying against fear that robs you of your faith in our trust worthy God! We are praying for all of you and wisdom for the doctors. We are here for you!

  3. Hi there. You responded to my post on Cherubs, my unborn daughter, Rowan is due in November and has a CDH.

    Your blog is fabulous and such an inspiration, Finley is such an inspiration. I would love to connect, I looked for an email address on here, but didn’t find one.

    Finley (another great name, if was on our list!) is very much in my thoughts and prayers.

    -Jess
    jjmatheis@aol.com

  4. Thinking of you all Liz… been keeping up with the blog and the thriving Finley with much happiness. Luckily, if it comes to surgery, we all know what a brave fighter Finley is. Another battle she will win…

Leave a Reply

