14.14

14 pounds, 14 ounces is what Miss Finley weighed in at on Thursday. She not only has gained back what she lost during her hospitalization, but she has completely caught up to her weight curve and might be a little higher than before! I can’t believe in about 2 weeks she will be 6 months old and we will be starting solids.

We had an appointment with Early Intervention on Thursday as well. This is a fabulous government program that Finley qualifies for on the basis of her condition (Having CDH which puts her at risk for delays). They do free assessments, so if you live in Portland and think your child might have a delay they will assess and if you qualify they do free in-home visits to assist. Since Finley has no delays as of yet – they will just monitor her. They will come to the home on a quarterly basis (and can increase visits if needed in future) and make sure she is meeting all her milestones. Finley is certainly under a magnifying glass – but the more people watching her does give me a certain amount of security that if something should come up – someone will notice if I don’t.  I am also happy that they can do the hearing assessments (needed every 3-4 months) in home, so that is one less office visit I will need to take her to.

Yesterday, I spent some time with some amazing friends and through our discussions, it became clear to me that God had answered a prayer of mine in a most unexpected way. Before I become pregnant with Finley I had been praying for God to use me. I didn’t realize until yesterday how that prayer was answered – according to HIS needs.  I know see how God has used me, and Finley – our story and this blog –  to affect the lives of many people and I am just so overwhelmed by that.  I remember the day I sat in front of this computer to start the blog and agonizing over whether or not to be very public with our story. I prayed to God to make it clear to me and over the days I just had a sense of peace about sharing our story over cyberspace.  It has been such a blessing to me and I am humbled when people tell me that it has blessed them.  Romans 8:28 says “We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God-those whom He has called according to His plan.”

We are blessed to be a blessing.  Mike Tatlock, Pastor at Grace Chapel said that once and it has stuck in my heart.

Praises: For all the answered prayers for Finley up until now – I read back through the blog and was blown AWAY by the sheer magnitude of answered prayers along the way. I just pray now that she will not reherniate again.

Also praise for CDH buddy Hollis, who went home this past week!! Captain Awesomepants still needs our prayers- he is going back to the hospital in May for open heart surgery – so please pray he gains lots of weight and gets the strength he needs to rock another surgery!

Last but not least – last 2 days to vote: http://www.refresheverything.com/cdhfamilies Please vote!!!

3 thoughts on “14.14”

  1. Yay Finley! What an awesome weight gain. She’s a rockstar! We still have Early Intervention for Sofie. She’ll age out of it when she turns 3 in a couple of months, and she’ll be ready to transition out at that time too, so it works out well. E.I. has been one of the very best things we did for her after she left the hospital. It’s an amazing service for families like ours!!

  2. you should start shopping for the white dress now. if finley is a tenth the woman her mama is, i’d be honored to have her as my daughter-in-law one day. ;o) thanks for including us so often in your updates. hollis is one loved and prayed for little boy. we wouldn’t be here (and sane) otherwise. love y’all! and love that 14-14 of yours. we go for our first (of many) check-ups on tuesday. we’ll see how captain awesomepants is growing, too. last hospital weight was 8 pounds, 4 ounces, so we’re pulling for something over that! :o)

  3. I have been reading your blog since we got your Christmas letter. I have prayed for Finley and your family. You are doing a great job with your blog. I love reading about the answers to prayer you have had. It blesses me to see what a beautiful young Christian women you have become. I have been brought to tears at times reading the faith I see in you. Everything happens for a reason. I believe that God is and will continue to give you people to minister to. God bless you Liz,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

