Here we go again….

Yesterday morning I noticed that Finley was breathing a little wierd. Sort of gasping, taking shorter breaths than normal, and acting extremely fussy whenever I tried to lay her on her back. I called my Pediatrician and they had me come in right away. Two chest X-Rays later we were on our way to Dr Bliss’s office because there was some concern that there was some “haze” in front of the left lung (later to be determined as intenstines) and they wanted to assess her themselves. We were admitted by afternoon and were told that depending on the ultrasounds surgery would be either within 36 hours, or even next week. Sometimes these reherniations are considered elective surgery. Not for us though. But that’s ok… I can feel God’s hand in this because today is Dr Bliss’s LAST DAY. Remember when I said maybe we were done with needing him? Well, we weren’t and God made sure we were back in the hands that he chosen to save our daughters life. Tuesday Finley was fine – I didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary. Wednesday, there was something off and I was trying to decide, “do I call the doctor, or am I being hypervigilent?” I decided better to be hypervigilent and “that mom” rather than ignore something important and I am glad that I did.

Spent the night in the Peds ward with Finley- waking to pump every 2-3 hours and feed her sugar water. Poor thing wasn’t allowed to nurse from 10:00AM on and she was not happy about it. I feel bad for the people we were sharing a room with. Finley has such an amazing spirit – she can smile and even laugh in the midst of all of this. She is such a smiley, happy baby. Oh ya- and still a fighter. First try to put in an IV took 7 tries. The veins kept blowing. Around 3AM she decided she was done with that IV.  Jon went with the team that time because I couldn’t watch again. He doesn’t even know how many tries it took- but I know they came back 50 minutes later.  Everyone kept remarking how strong she is – at one point there were 4 people holding down my 13 pound baby. That was probably the worst part of yesterday.

I am being long winded – I guess blogging is helping me keep my mind occupied. She is in surgery with Dr Bliss right now. He was going to enter through the belly (laproscopically) which is supposed to be an even easier recovery than the thorascopic (chest) approach. He will either fix it with a patch or he did mention sewing skin to skin- so I am praying for God to “show off” again and make it so that this time Finley doesn’t even need a plug or patch, but he is able to sew the diaphragm back to itself.

I taped Finley’s Jeremiah 29:11 verse back on her crib. She also has a few of her friends that were with her on the journey last time again (ladybug bear and monkey). And most importantly, God is here with us. I felt so weary and weak last night- but I am already feeling stronger. Thank you prayer warriors for lifting us up. For your intercessions on Finleys behalf- again.

Be still……

Praying for – smooth surgery with NO complications. The ability for Dr Bliss to do this laproscopically and not open her up, praying that he doesn’t have to leave to do another surgery (there is a boy in the NICU that might need emergency surgery and he mentioned he might have to leave Finley if that is the case), for a repair that will NOT reherniate EVER again, and for a miraculously fast recovery.  Amen.

2:30 PM Update: Finley had 2 holes that required repair. Dr Bliss placed a Gortex patch over both holes, and went a little bigger to reinforce it better. Finley is in recovery and we are waiting to see her now… Surgery took about 5 hours – he said she really made him work but she did great. Once again, we are so thankful. I am overwhelmed by the prayers, love and support we have received today.  Thank you. Again. 🙂

Just praying now for a smooth recovery – for her bowels not to be too upset and to start working quickly.  No post surgical complications.  For her to be able to return to feeding quickly. I have a feeling my little superstar is going to impress us once again…. with her divine intervention.

9 thoughts on “Here we go again….”

  1. Dear Liz, I am praying the peace of God surrounds you and sustains you. I am here for you if you want to talk or just need a listening ear. Sorry you are facing this again. I will be on my knees for you and sweet Finley today.

  2. We continue to keep your family close in prayer! Thank God Dr. Bliss was still here to help Finely in her time of need. We will keep lifting you all up through these trying days. ((HUGS))!!!

  3. Oh Liz, how scary, and what a blessing that Dr. Bliss was still there. What a miracle that is!
    I am praying right now for Finley, you, your husband and for Dr. Bliss! May God hold each of you in His hand!
    darcy

  4. Thinking of all of you guys~and praying for quick recovery. I am glad you had a “mommy instinct” to get her in right away while Dr. Bliss was still available. Prayers are being said.

    “Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And Earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. (psalm 73:23-26)

  5. Finley is such a little fighter! And YOUR faith in God only strengthens her that much more. Prayers for you all. So glad to hear she is out of surgery.

Leave a comment