Best gift ever…

I am so thankful. I keep reflecting on that in the final days of 2010 and am in complete awe of the journey we have been on.

January 1st, we began the year with me pregnant and oh so sick. All I could think about was just getting through that first trimester until I hit that magic spot when the medicine finally starts to help me.

March 31st  is the day when we found out that our baby was a girl (we had already agreed on the name Finley, so we looked at the ultrasound and said her name with joy) and then 5 minutes later we heard the words “congenital diaphragmatic hernia” for the first time.

April 7th, we met Dr Bliss.

August 12th, Finley arrived and began fighting.

August 30th, Finley had her repair surgery.

September 29th, Finley came home.

October 8th, they diagnosed a Cholodochol Cyst – that would be gone 3 days later.

We have been witness to several miracles and I am humbled and so grateful for all that God has done for us. I have learned so much this year and I am a changed person because of our journey and because of Finley and for that I am thankful. I appreciate all the people that have walked, loved, and prayed with us this past year. My heart aches for those that lost their babies this year and I will continue to pray for all the CDH families.

The best gift ever is the two, healthy, beautiful daughters I have been blessed with. I don’t need anything more in this life than this wonderful family and friends I have. Family, people – that is what is important. How we can touch and carry one another through the difficult times and rejoice together in the good.  Thank you God for being there for us in so many ways throughout this year.  I am excited for a new year which will bring many new milestones for both girls and I can’t wait to share them with all of you!

1 thought on “Best gift ever…”

  1. What an amazing year full of God’s many miracles for your family!
    It has been a blessing for me to see it (even from afar!) and has reminded me so much of our own journey and the many miracles that God gave us and how much it changed me.
    I pray for God’s richest blessings on you and your family in this new year!
    darcy

Leave a Reply

