Some follow ups…

Finley had some appointments today. First at 11:00 we had a abdominal ultrasound to check up on her gall bladder and bile duct. Last time the gall bladder was enlarged and distended – this time the guy had trouble even finding it. He had to call in the Radiologist to confirm if he had the right body part. The bile duct was slightly larger than last time, but Dr B said it is only slightly larger than a normal size, so he wasn’t concerned.  The Ultrasound took over an hour because Miss Wiggleworm would not lay still for her photos and kept kicking the tech in the hand. Ran into Dr Bliss in the atrium and said our goodbyes -still hate that he is moving, but Finley’s fate doesn’t lay in the hands of any one man.  I just try to think about all the lives he will help in LA.

1:00 we met with Dr Cheng, Finley’s cardiologist (How weird is it that my 12 week old has a cardiologist and neither Jon nor I have one?). After checking her blood oxygen (98-100) and getting some of her vitals, she got another EKG. No evidence of any pulmonary hypertension – everything looked good! She had one area that required a second look – but Dr Cheng thinks it is just artifact. The he told us that he doesn’t need to see Finley again unless she shows symptoms of having PT issues (lethargy, turning blue, difficulty breathing, difficulty feeding).  How awesome is that? He said how rare it is for him to see a baby that required as much intervention as Finley did doing THIS well so soon. What can I say, but thank you God, thank you God, thank you God! I know how blessed Finley and we are.  I know I have heard from several expecting moms saying that our blog gives them hope – and I am so thankful for that. I remember clinging to the survivor blogs when I was pregnant and I know how much comfort it gives to read about the babies doing well.

I have heard the comment about how strong we were, but I hope everyone realizes that whatever strength and hope you saw in me- that was God. My nature is entirely different. I was able to sleep through the night pretty much every night from the diagnosis on. I never had a nightmare. I had fear – don’t think for a second I didn’t.  But I felt God in a very real way through this journey. If you are a family going through a poor fetal diagnosis – know God will be there every step of the way with you.  Always feel free to each out to me.. I hope to be able to help others through this journey, as some very special people have helped me.

P.S. AND good weight gain this time! Almost an ounce a day – she is now 11 lbs, 15.9 oz – so by tomorrow she will be 12 pounds!!

1 thought on “Some follow ups…”

  1. I am so happy to hear all the good news!! I just want you to know that reading how well Finley is doing, helps me through the day. I might not have my Addi, but seeing how well your sweetie is doing makes me so very HAPPY!! I love getting to see the pictures! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

