Happy 3 month Birthday Finley!

Finley is 3 months old today. Happy 3 month Birthday to my beautiful baby!! It brings tears to my eyes looking back at the past few months and remembering how far we have come. I am just so thankful and feel so blessed to have this amazing baby home with us. You look at her today and would have no idea of what her first 7 weeks were like. She is doing really well on her feeding and weight gain- except for last week, but I tried another reflux medicine and found out that the Prilosec really does work best.  I am hoping she will break the 12 pound mark by next Wednesdays weight check (She was 11.7 last Monday).  Please keep praying that she continues to gain weight so well. I am so very thankful for this since I know this is NOT typical for CDH babies. I was reflecting a lot about our journey yesterday after receiving the news that our beloved surgeon is moving down to California. Maybe this is God telling us that we won’t need him again and he has done what we needed.

Finley is such a happy baby. Mostly mellow unless she is hungry or tired. She smiles so much. And what a talker- she loves to coo and ga.  She is just like Rowan in that she loves to be held and that is her favorite place to sleep. I think she is as happy as we are to have her home with us. It’s been 6 weeks – we are close to passing the amount of time she was in the NICU. What a happy day it will be when she will have spent more time at home with us, than in a hospital.

My heart is overflowing with happiness for Finley and our family, but breaking today for another CDH family – Christopher ‘Heath” has passed. He survived his surgery and made it home within a month and was home about a month and then contracted RSV and has died today due to CDH complications with the RSV virus. It just reminds me (again) that each day is SUCH a gift.  It also reminds me why I need to be so vigilant to try and keep Finley healthy, but I know that I can only do so much. I know her life is ultimately in God’s hands and as another NICU mom put it – she is just on loan to me.

Some recent Finley photos… thank you for your continued prayers for Finley and I ask for you to pray for Heath’s family as well.

3 thoughts on “Happy 3 month Birthday Finley!”

  1. Brings tears to my eyes just reading your post! I will pray for the “heath” family as I can’t imagine what they are going through. I am so happy that your family is all together and happy/healthy.

  2. So happy for you! Praising God for three amazing months. You are an amazing mommy who continues to give God all Glory. What a blessing to behold! Enjoy this Thanksgiving, it has so many reasons to be thankful! Looking forward to seeing you in a couple weeks.

  3. so happy to hear she is doing well, my third baby has been diagnosed at 20 weeks I am now 27 weeks, I read with hope your blog and am grateful you put it on the web, take good care.

Leave a Reply

