New Vent – 5 days old

Much to my surprise this morning, the perinatalogist decided he wanted to try Finley back on the other ventilator. I have to admit I was gripped by fear at any changes being made – so after I called Jon to give him the update (he went home to spend some time with Rowan this morning) I cried and cried to God and asked for him to give me more strength and he answered my prayer. I was able to pull myself together, go back into the room and watched as they changed machines. It was scary watching her oxygenation numbers start to fall and then sure enough, as she realized she could take her own breaths too on this ventilator, they climbed back up. They set new acceptable ranges- she can dip a little lower than before (85-99), but has been staying within range since they made the change – she is now on 35% oxygen – which really isn’t too high. Her CO2 is about 65 which is higher than on the other machine (44) but they are ok with that – babies with CDH can have higher CO2 pre surgery is what they said. The Dr today said that they are calling her PH mild since she doesn’t need that much oxygen and no other medical intervention (nitric oxide, etc). So for right now, I have to say things are pretty good. I am so thankful that she is staying as stable as she is and I just keep praying that this continues like this until surgery. Still no word on when, I am guessing not until next week since I hear both the surgeons are going on vacation this week. Don’t they know that isn’t allowed? No rush though, each day lets her body grow stronger and hopefully heal the PH entirely! I just pray that she continues to do well on this vent and doesn’t experience any decline.  Please help her heal and get stronger each minute, each hour, each day. That is my prayer.

Also I am sooo thankful that I so far, am exceeding milk supply expectations- so Finley needs to hurry up and be able to start eating all this milk that we are storing for her in the NICU freezer. (She doesn’t get BM until after she stabilizes after her surgery).

6 thoughts on “New Vent – 5 days old”

  1. Finley is a strong little miracle… I love the new pictures. She is beautiful! My prayers remain with you and your family.

  2. Hello Liz, I am Esther Siegel’s aunt and my Bible study group (meets in Tigard) has been praying for you and your family since early April. Esther recently shared your blog with me, so I am sharing many of your updates with the ladies in my group. They are a great group of prayer warriors. Please know that we continue to keep Finley, you, Jon and Rowan in our prayers. My heart goes out to you and your family and may God give you a hefty dose of peace on a daily basis!

    Janice Powell

  3. Finley is precious~and she is strong. I feel helpless in comforting you both as we can’t be there to give you a hug or make you smile, but what you can be sure of that not a minute is going by without thoughts and prayers for you and Jon. I am reading the bible/other inspirational things and keep coming across things that are meant for me to gain strength in faith so that my prayers are constant for your entire family: a few words below to guide your spirit today:

    “Dear God, You know how easily I fall into worrying. Teach me to catch my worries before they run away with me—and then give them to YOU. If my life is in YOUR hands, then I have NOTHING to FEAR….amen”

    Dear God, Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. John 14:27

    Be still, my soul! the Lord is on thy side; Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain; Leave to thy God to order and provide; In EVERY change he faithful will remain. Be still, my soul! thy best, thy heavenly Friend through thorny ways leads to a JOYFUL end….Katharina A. Von Schlegel

  4. I work with you dad at DMV and just wanted to let you know that your beautiful family is in my prayers every single day. Keep yourself as strong and healthy as you can.

Leave a Reply

