1 day old

Rowan got to meet her little sister today and she picked out a monkey rattle for her from the gift shop. She even got to touch her hand- she was pretty excited to finally meet her and she was very curious about all the medical equipment and beeps coming from everything around her. Finley’s stats are holding steady so far which is great.. they are inserting her PICC line as I type this, so I will be returning to the NICU soon to see how that went. Dr Bliss, her surgeon stopped by and said that everything is what we expected it to be, so there are no surprises (yet). If she does well this week, we could be doing the surgery a week from Monday. One thing we really need to happen though is for her to move back down to the other ventilator. The one she is on is a high speed ventilator and is doing more of the work for her, meaning she is requiring more intervention.. She is getting about 28% oxygen (18-21% is what most people require) right now.  They can do the surgery on that ventilator, but it is not ideal and they would really prefer her to be on the other one. So we will be praying for that. Dr Bliss did mention we should be prepared for her to decline some over the weekend and then see improvement- many of these CDH babies will go through periods of ups and downs.. I am trying to set my mind around this- but what my mind and heart really wants is that God is going to work his miracles in her and she will just keep getting better. 🙂

Oh, and the other highlight of my day was that I got to change one of Finley’s diapers and check her temperature today! You can see that Finley has a cloth covering her eyes in the photo – she is pretty sensitive to light and stimulation. I have been able to lay my hands on her and I am just so amazed by her – I know the doctors are still very cautious and apprehensive to say she is doing great – she is still a very sick baby in the highest level of NICU support- but knowing how much worse things could be – I think she is doing awesome.  I can’t say enough about how all this is all due to God – any strength you think I have – that is ALL HIM. I can’t even begin to explain how I am coping with this so well except for that fact that I feel God’s love and presence with us in this.

Finley shares a birthday with another CDH survivor, Zoe Henry and her mama shared a quote with me that I love that I want to end with…

” Do not look forward to what may happen tomorrow; the same everlasting Father who cares for you today will take care of you tomorrow and every day. Either he will shield you from suffering, or he will give you the unfailing strength to bear it. Be at peace then, put aside all anxious thoughts and imaginations, and say continually, “The Lord is my strength and shield; my heart has trusted in him and I am helped. He is not only with me, but in me and I in him.” Francis de Salle

Also thank you for the comments on the blog, Facebook and texts – your messages of encouragement and prayers have really just fed our spirits. God’s love is evident through all of you.

Leave a Reply

