39 weeks – induction scheduled for Thursday!

Thursday. I wasn’t expecting that.

I went to the Doctors appointment just expecting to have a normal ultrasound, the joyous event of having my membranes stripped (insert sarcasm), and to schedule the induction for Monday if things didn’t happen before then, as we had discussed previously.  But then the math on the ultrasound measurements returned with Finley now in the 10% category for growth and even though the ultrasound tech thinks because of many reasons (Finley head down low, kept moving and breathing like crazy) she didn’t get good measurements and we both think that this result is totally wrong – because it could be accurate, the Dr can’t wait until Monday to intervene. That means if Finley doesn’t come before then, I am checking in to Emanuell at 5:00AM on Thursday to begin the induction process.  Based on their math – they think she will be a little over 6 pounds. But the ultrasound tech and I talked about how you can see fat rolls on her, and she has those chubby cheeks- we think she is totally going to be bigger than that.  She predicted 8 pounds.  I just don’t believe there is anything going sideways with her growth- but I am going to trust that there is a reason we need to go this route (if it comes to that). God has gotten us this far and there have been so many praises – so I will just continue to trust and have faith.

My stats:  1.5 cm dilated, -1 station, and 70% effaced – not a ton of progress this week…. Her BPP was 8/8.

So here we are, almost at the end/beginning of the next phase of our journey.  What we need prayer for….

1. Whatever God’s timing is for her arrival, just that the labor goes smoothly and there are no complications and her entrance into the world is easy – and no C-section for me.
2. That she stabilizes quickly and does not develop pulmonary hypertension.
3.  Pray for wisdom for the doctors and nurses to make all the right decisions regarding our/her care.
4. That she is strong and stable and does not require ECMO.
5. That they are able to do her surgery quickly and that God uses Dr Bliss to heal Finley.
6. That God uses Jon, Finley and I and this situation to his glory- may Finley’s recovery just be astounding and a testimony to God’s power.
7. Strength, peace and calm for Jon and I…  Help us to be a support to one another and lift each other up, rather than unleash negative emotions upon each other.
8. That Finley recovers quickly and gains strength after the surgery and there are no further complications.

I know I am asking a lot – but I am praying boldly (as my friend Cody would say) and am petitioning God for all these things and know that through him – all things are possible.

A friend shared this verse with me and I love this version of Philippians 4:6-7 from The Message;

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.”

Thursday or Friday Finley will be making her grand appearance and beginning her fight – I can’t wait to meet her. I just know this little girl is going to astound me.

13 thoughts on “39 weeks – induction scheduled for Thursday!”

  1. Wow Liz! So crazy the big day is almost here! I admire you for all of your strength and optimism;). You are an amazing person and I hope that finleys entrance into this world will be amazing as well. I will be thinking and praying for you everyday;)

  2. Hi Liz,
    Wow, reading this brings back so many memories for me. You left a comment on my blog awhile back…I’m Owen’s mom and we delivered at Legacy as well and had the wonderful Dr. Bliss.
    I will keep you all in my prayers as Finley’s arrival is finally here! You are in great hands at Legacy and ultimately in God’s hands which is even better:)
    Before Owen was born I “collected” scripture and quotes and wrote them down to read while I was sitting with him. Here are two that I love:
    Psalm 34:4
    I sought the Lord and He answered me and delivered me from all of my fear.
    John 9:1-3
    As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life.

    and one quote is:
    “Do not look forward to what may happen tomorrow; the same everlasting Father who cares for you today will take care of you tomorrow and everyday. Either He will shield you from suffering, or He will give you the unfailing strength to bear it. Be at peace, then, put aside all anxious thoughts and imaginations, and say continually: “The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart has trusted in Him and I am helped. He is not only with me but in me and I in Him.” – Francis de Sales

    I knew since we weren’t avoiding the suffering that I needed HIS unfailing strength to get through it!

    Oh, and I think your prayer list is a pretty good one, it is good to be bold and ask for exactly what you want. I will pray those things with you.
    darcy
    Owen’s Mom (cdh survivor, 3 1/2 years old)
    http://ittybittyblog.wordpress.com

  3. You can do it Finley!!! Praying for you and your baby girl Liz. Hope she comes into this world safely and no complications for you. Stay strong and think positive. Sending you tons of positive thoughts and energy for the days to come. Fight Finley fight!!

    Hugs,
    Tracy Meats, Ian’s mom from CHERUBS

  4. Liz, Jon, Rowan and soon Finely,
    We are lifting you all up in prayer and trusting God for the miracles to shine as you all walk through this journey.
    We are here for you in any way that you need us. Much love to you!
    Heather

  5. You’re in my prayers that all will go smoothly as you pass this threshold. I know everything will turn out for the best. Stay strong. I’m especially praying that you will find peace because with all that will transpire, it can sometimes be hard to come across.

  6. Alicia & I have been praying for Finley to come out strong & that all of you will have the strength needed!

    (FYI) – Alicia has been a bit under the weather so she is questionable but I am still available if you need support & will be off work early on Thurs.

    Shelly Moore
    Beaverton

  7. i don’t know you at all. i just found your blog through a fellow CDH mom’s facebook. our baby was diagnosed in utero 2 weeks ago (at 22 weeks) and we are still in the shock stage. we have already found so much support through fellow CDH parents. i just wanted you to know i am bookmarking your blog, praying for you tonight as i go to bed, and will be checking in tomorrow to see how things go for your induction. thank you for journaling your personal journey. blogs like this are what are getting me through some days when i feel so alone and scared. blessings to you, your family, and your sweet little one coming into the world very soon. ❤

  8. I love you Liz, you are an inspiration for me and all mommys. I know God will bring you all through this amazingly, what an awesome God we serve!! I’m praying and thinking of you, Jon, Finley and Rowan, may a “peace that passes understanding” fill each of you! MUCH love, erin

  9. I just read your whole blog and I really feel for you. Reading about Finley’s liver being down, Whitney’s liver was up. And about her HLR, Whitney’s was .8 but she is surviving and expected to survive. Thankyou so much for putting her name in your blog for people to pray for her. If you need to talk or have any questions let me know. Hopefully my blog will help you as other CDH mom’s blogs have helped me though this. I’m so glad that you have so much faith. I’m praying for you, and your family, and Finley.

  10. J, L, R and F…

    Praying for you this Thursday AM! We KNOW the ONE who KNOWS your hearts… and has KNOWN Miss Finley since before her creation —

    May HE sustain you today!

    Furmans

Leave a Reply

