31 week update

Our countdown is now into single digits.. scary! 9 weeks to go (less if I go early)….

We had an eventful weekend of food poisoning for Jon and I…. First I got it on Friday and after being sick all day long ended up having to go into the hospital Friday night to get re-hydrated. They kept me over night to be safe  and by morning I felt much better.  Jon came down with it on Sunday but thankfully Rowan didn’t get it since she is on a strict diet of alphabet soup, turkey sandwiches, and mac-and-cheese. I guess there are benefits to being a picky 2-year-old.

On Monday we met Dr Cheldelin from NW Newborns for our NICU tour before the normal Emanuel Maternity tour. They have this wall of photos of NICU babies that have survived and it is amazing what they can do there. I feel really good about Finley being in good hands but it is still so crazy that this is our reality.  I kept it together pretty good during that tour, but had to leave the normal maternity tour early because it was getting just to hard to hear about the “normal” delivery experience that I am not going to get.  I am happy that I have the time to prepare myself mentally for what is coming – but somehow I know that no amount of preparation will truly get me ready for what lies ahead. And that is when I pray – because I know the only way I will be able to get through any of this is with God’s help. He has already gotten us this far – when I think of all the answered prayer so far, I feel comforted that he is with us in this and he will be with us in the those days ahead.

Today was another ultrasound and appointment with Dr Lee and everything is still looking the same, which is good. Finley did all the things they were looking for including the “practice breathing” and movements. She is head down and super active. The last 2 appointments she has had the hiccups. Next appointment is in 2 weeks, but Dr Lee was reasonably confident that since we haven’t had any fluid issues yet, we probably won’t. But as any good medical professional, he doesn’t rule out the possibility and hence the frequent ultrasounds.

Thank you for continued prayer for Finley and our family. Here are some shots from the ultrasound today…

2 thoughts on “31 week update”

  1. Love the foot picture! We could never get Jayden to give a good foot shot.

    Food poisining is awful but it’s good to hear you & Finley are doing well despite it. We were also very impressed with the NICU tour & how thorough NW Newborns were. They were always realistic yet reassuring. The pictures on the wall gave us hope too. Don’t lose yours. ((HUGS))

    Alicia & I are keeping you close in our prayers for the next weeks to be smooth sailing.

    Alicia (Mom) & Shelly (Grandma) to Cherub angel Jayden G.
    Beaverton

  2. Liz,
    Thank you for sharing Finaley’s journey,
    A beautiful scripture that i wanted to share:

    Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart. Do not be afraid… for I am with you… declares the Lord.“ Jeremiah 1:5,8

    love to you!
    Heather Ward

Leave a Reply

