More good news!

We went back for our first ultrasound and Dr’s appointment since getting the news that Finley has CDH. I was very emotional during the ultrasound – there are just so many emotions to process right now. It’s overwhelming at times. The great news is that the lung/head ratio has gone from a 1 to a 1.37 which is REALLY good.

We went back for our first ultrasound and Dr’s appointment since getting the news that Finley has CDH. I was very emotional during the ultrasound – there are just so many emotions to process right now. It’s overwhelming at times. The great news is that the lung/head ratio has gone from a 1 to a 1.37 which is REALLY good. The higher the ratio, the better outcome usually. It is also dependent on which organs are in the chest cavity as well- in our case if it continues to be just the stomach and part of the intestines that puts us in a much better place. Having the liver migrate up there is very bad – so we will continue to pray that God keeps her liver where it is. Her heartbeat was really strong and she is looking good otherwise. We spoke to the Doctor more about making the decision about the pediatric surgeon – we have two people to consider locally – Dr Newman or Dr Bliss  delivering at Emanuel; or we could possibly go down to UCSF because they do see the majority of these cases on the west coast. We are going to explore to see if it makes sense to deliver down there – if the medical care would be better for Finley.  Our perinatologist seems to think that Emanuel is well equipped to handle our case and since we are not a more dire case (which would mean lower ratio, liver up, right-sided CDH) UCSF may not be necessary.  Please pray that God guides us to the right hospital/surgeon and that we have a peace in our decision. 

I am so thankful for all the support and prayers up to this point. I know that I couldn’t function without it. I truly feel God’s comfort and support through this. I have my moments of fear and worry – but overall I am so amazed that I am functioning as well as I am – and I know that is ALL God.

I keep thinking about this verse and it gives me comfort;

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

4 thoughts on “More good news!”

  1. What a great idea Liz- this will be so nice to keep us up on the updates!!! We are praying for you all daily….God is good and he has a plan in all of this….love to you all!!!!

  2. I know my husband Corey contacted you regarding the Fetal Hope Foundation and the journey our twins had. I just wanted you to know that you are in my thoughts and especially my prayers during this difficult time. We were not sure how we were going to get through some days, but four years later we are still amazed at how awesome God was during those intense moments and how close we felt to Him. Continue looking towards him and trusting that He has already prepared those doctors and nurses that will be caring for you and your daughter.

    In Christ,
    Jessica Wilson
    http://www.miracletwins.com

    1. Jessica – I just looked at your blog and the history of your twins – thank you for sharing your miraculous story. You have a beautiful family. God is getting me through the days and I am so thankful for the prayers of so many for our family.

Leave a Reply

